A Thoughtful Regift

November 24, 2009

As I’ve been handmaking all the paper for my recent projects, I’ve come to a few realizations. Let me begin by saying I am completely biased and think handmade is by far more beautiful and meaningful than something manufactured, and I desperately want to believe that everyone feels the same. When I give a card made from paper I myself made…well, let me put it this way. Last night a girl in my letterpress class re-gifted me a bundle of Nepali handmade paper cards, envelopes, and stock. I couldn’t believe the intricate beauty of the papers…

  

And I loved the inscription on the back of the cards:

What a lovely way to see things. After I read this I decided to include inserts in my handmade cards from now on in order to encourage those who receive them to use them again. I have to say, in America we have the negatively connotated idea of the “re-gift”… but I LOVE re-gifts! Honestly, the other week, Luke’s brother Mitch sent me a Starbucks gift card as a thank-you for putting him up for the night. When I called to thank him, he owned up to the fact that it was a re-gift. I thought that was fantastic. There’s something I like about a person who realizes that you will like something more than they do and passes it along for your sake. Sure, there is also such a thing as cheap, thoughtless re-gifting… but thoughtful re-gifting is where it’s at. I also loved this great idea I read in Real Simple this month. The question was “How do you stay on a budget during the holidays?” and one reader answered:

“I host a snack-and-swap party for my girlfriends. Everyone brings over 8 to 10 things (clothing, books, household items, etc.) that she has never used, despite best intentions. We pour wine, eat cheese, display our goods, then “shop” for Christmas gifts in the comfort of my home. Inevitably we all find items that are perfect for our loved ones, without spending a dime.” – Amelia Winslow, CA

All that said, I’ve been a little discouraged lately about my handmade paper cards. Inevitably, it takes far more time and effort to handmake something as opposed to buying it–that’s a given. I guess in business, one has to begin to weigh the amount of time it takes to complete a project against the amount of money earned for that project. At this point, my ratios are hardly balanced–consider the 4 hours it took me to make a set of 10 stationery cards, start to finish, and the $15 I’ll get for it in return. I’m determined, however, to not let this get to me. Yes, sometimes time spent measuring, pouring, cooching, squeezing, and drying the paper gets long and tedious. To be honest, though, the process is relaxing. The studio is soothing. I turn on some music, head back to the place where everything comes together, and spend an hour making 30 sheets of paper–and things are alright. And when the end result looks something like this, I remember why I’m in love with handmade paper.

One Response to “A Thoughtful Regift”

  1. cee Says:

    awesome!!
    hope you dont mind me asking…

    what fount is used for “Lindsey”??

    and the ornaments used in your previous post, where are they from?


Leave a Reply

