Banana Carrot Ginger Oatmeal Muffins (BCGOM)

October 26, 2009

I wish I could rearrange the words so the acronym could be BCOMG, because these muffins are really delicious. I was mixing up the batter and talking to Luke on the phone when the words “totally awesomest” came out of my mouth to describe them… Luke proceeded to mock my grammar, but he really had no idea how good they looked (and I punished him by not bringing him any of the totally awesomest muffins when I saw him this weekend).

I loosely followed this recipe, but omitted the eggs and added about 1 tbsp grated fresh ginger. I also used whole wheat pastry flour, which I wouldn’t really recommend, as the muffins didn’t rise all that well (probably also a result of no eggs). If I make these again, I will probably take action when I notice the batter is too thick for muffin batter and add some milk or water. Ooh, or maybe ginger ale–yesterday I heard about an apple recipe that calls for a can of mountain dew before it goes in the oven. The purist side of me says there is nothing good mt. dew can do for a recipe that plain old sugar couldn’t achieve. What do you think? Anyway, my batter was thick and chunky, but I didn’t do anything about it and I used an oversized muffin tin to bake them (which worked out great. Who doesn’t love giant muffins?).

Anyway, these muffins are a vegan’s dream come true. My roommate Alaina just walked in and saw me eating one at 9am and asked “Are you eating a veggie burger?” –so you know it’s good! I think she was confused because of my preferred serving method for these muffins. If one isn’t accustomed to eating whole, natural, healthy, vegan-esque foods, these muffins may taste a tad bland–they definitely aren’t your classic banana-chocolate-chip muffins (which are probably the equivalent of 3 or 4 choc. chip cookies for breakfast). So to soften the blow, I think it’s fantastic to cut the muffins in half, spread some butter on there and grill them in a pan for 5 minutes or so. Foolproof. I stole this idea from my high school place of employment, Perkins Restaurant & Bakery, famous for their (500-700 calorie!) “Mammoth Muffins.” Yikes–people had no idea their muffin and coffee breakfast was running them about half their required caloric intake for the day! What was infinitely worse was when they came out with the mammoth muffin sundae–can you imagine the chocolate chocolate chip muffin, your choice of ice cream, chocolate syrup, whipped cream and a cherry on top? I’m getting nauseous just thinking about it. That baby had to be 1500 calories at least!

Ok, enough of my rant. So Perkins will never win any health awards, but they do make great muffins–and what does it hurt to slap one on the grill every once in a while? Try it. You’ll like it. I promise.

In other news, I finished printing Mary’s birth announcements! I almost made the deadly mistake of printing the wrong time on all 50, but I was saved by a friend in the studio. Now all I have to do it die-cut an oval shape, insert a photo, paste the whole contraption on another piece of cardstock and voila. I can’t wait until they are done.

Soccer photo credit: Mike Wise

4 Responses to “Banana Carrot Ginger Oatmeal Muffins (BCGOM)”


  1. haha I like that Alaina thought it was a veggie burger. Understandable thought – grilling is a good idea and maybe I will try to make them but I’m prob using eggs.

  2. Deborah Says:

    ha! they do look like veggie burgers. But that top picture is so nice, they look delicious.
    I’m glad you are blogging more.

  3. Deborah Says:

    and.. I feel ill right now about those mammoth muffins! I’m sure I’ve eaten an entire one by myself on more than one occasion!

  4. Deborah Says:

    I was just clicking through some of your old entries here, and I had to laugh when I saw that you (BCGOM) in the title. It reminded me of how Scott B. used to make everything into an acronym.
    There must be some kind of name for that. Like obsessive compulsive. Whatever it’s called, there’s probably an acronym for it!


Leave a Reply

