First solo run on press…

October 22, 2009

…and I couldn’t be giddier. I was in the studio today, distributing spacing and fun stuff like that, when I decided to finish up my niece’s birth announcements. After much indecision concerning typefaces & design (such an amazingly long process compared to a computer screen, gah!) I finally set all the type. I even took the plunge and inked up the Vandercook #4–by myself!–to print the first run: Mary’s name in a transparent red with these adorable ornaments I dug up in one of the hundreds of drawers in the studio.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Just look at the amazing detail in the ornaments (enhanced, obviously, by the glory of letterpress):

I’m really happy with them so far–to mention still on a high just having the opportunity to do letterpress!  I can’t wait to print the rest of the type, chosen by my brother and sister-in-law, and share the rest of my plan for them with you.

Leave a Reply

