Sweet Potato White Bean soup

October 13, 2009

 soup
I got the chance to make the Sweet Potato White Bean soup on Sunday, and it is certainly unique. I adapted the recipe for the sake of time and ingredient availability, but it is tasty. I want to try it again and puree the end product to make a creamier soup. I feel like that might be a bit of a better fit. Anyway, here is the recipe for those who asked:

SWEET POTATO WHITE BEAN SOUP

4 qts water
1 lb Great Northern beans
2 bay leaves
3/4 cups olive oil
10 cloves garlic, chopped
1 cup chopped parsley
6 med. sweet potatoes, peeled & diced
1/4 tsp. dried basil (or 10 fresh leaves)
salt and pepper to taste

Bring water to boil in covered pot. Add beans and bay leaves, cook uncovered over medium heat for 1.5-2 hours, or until beans are soft. In skillet, heat oil and add garlic. Sautee for 5 minutes. Add parsley, sweet potatoes and basil. Spoon mixture into the cooking beans. Cook for 30 minutes longer, stirring frequently.

And that’s that. Now, my adaptations were fairly significant, so I’m not quite sure how this exact recipe turns out. Upon first glance it seems like it would be a bit bland, which is actually what I thought about my final product, too. However, the more I eat the soup, the more I appreciate the simple sweetness of the sweet potato chunks, and I actually like the soup quite a bit. As far as my alterations go: I basically halved the whole recipe and began not with 2 qts of water, but 1 qt water and 1 qt organic vegetable broth. I omitted bay leaves and sauteed the garlic with thyme and dried basil. I did not peel the sweet potatoes and left them in rather large chunks, taking about 1/2 cup of the chunks and pureeing them in a food processor in an attempt to add girth to the broth. After adding everything together, I simmered the soup on low for 45 min to 1 hr.

I’m looking forward to trying out the Gingered Carrot Bisque recipe next. By the way, I decided the white flower bowls in the picture are perfect for soup samples, or maybe tea lights, or soy sauce for sushi… what do you think? I got them at a yard sale on Saturday. I love them.

One Response to “Sweet Potato White Bean soup”

  1. Deborah Says:

    Those bowls are really cute! I miss using my white dishes. I think patterned dishes are nice, but they’re aren’t so ideal for food presentation.

    I’d like to see a perfect little scoop of sherbet in one of those bowls.

    One recommendation I would make for the sweet potatoes…Add them in 1/2 inch rounds to the boiling water before you saute them. in a few minutes you can scoop them out and let them cool. Then their skins will slip right off.

    Ignore me if you already knew that about sweet potatoes.
    The puree-ing idea sounds very good too.

    The other day I made a soup similar to this with butterCUP (not nut) squash. It had a nice subtly sweet flavor to it too.

    pff… I wish we lived close so we could cook together all the time.
    We could be like Julia Child and her friend Simca. We’ll co-auther a revolutionary cookbook together!


Leave a Reply

