inspiration all around

October 7, 2009

I always love looking at Nole’s blog Oh So Beautiful Paper. Nole herself has such an amazing eye for design (as showcased by her phenomenally gorgeous wedding) and her blog has never failed to link me to great paper work from all around the country. She is the only design blog I follow on Twitter @beautifulpaper (PS: I’m on Twitter too @nightinga1e) because her features are fantastic–so, naturally, her blog is the first I checked when I wanted to find some inspiration for my first letterpress project: birth announcements for my 3 week old niece, Mary Adelaide.

28341079

Though I have only met her once (the day of her birth), I know she is a sweetheart and I’m dying to see her again soon. As I did for my last niece, Caitlin Grace, I wanted to design birth announcements as a gift to my brother and sister-in-law. I’m running a bit late for this daughter due to lack of access to a Mac, but a hand-set announcement done in letterpress is the perfect solution!

Today at the studio I’m going to look for some embellishments that I can do in blind impression, as featured on OSBP yesterday. I love the effect; powerfully elegant yet so soft and simple. Then I’ll mess around with typeface to find the perfect lettering, although I love this one from Dauphine Press:

 

carriagehorizontal

I’m looking forward to seeing what happens. It’s all new to me… but I trust I can figure something out that will mirror the beauty of my brand new niece!

Leave a comment